Summer Opera in Tucson,
and OGSA Will Be There!

You don’t have to forgo the pleasures of fully staged professional opera in the summer months. It’s coming to a movie theater near you.

The Metropolitan Opera Summer Encores series reprises works from this past season’s hugely popular Live in HD transmissions. And Reel Arts 6 has gotten into the act, continuing its series of Royal Opera House Covent Garden productions.

The Met series includes Rigoletto, La Rondine, Otello, and The Enchanted Island, all shown Wednesdays at 7:00 pm. Local venues are the same as for the live presentations: Park Place 20 and Century Oro Valley Marketplace.

Royal Opera House offerings are La Traviata, with Renée Fleming and Joseph Calleja, (Thursday, June 19, at 6:30 pm, and Saturday, June 28, at 10:30 am) and Manon Lescaut, with Kristine Opolais and Jonas Kaufmann, (Thursday, July 24, and Saturday, August 2, times TBA) at Grand Cinema Oracle View, 4690 N Oracle Rd. Check the theater timetable to confirm dates and times.

As an added attraction, OGSA president and professional historian Carol Garrard will discuss the historical and social background of La Traviata before the June 28 showing. Subject to availability, we will also have an OGSA speaker at Manon Lescaut. Details TBA.

2014 Quest for the Best Awards

The eleventh annual Quest for the Best was held March 29, 2014, at Holsclaw Hall on the UA campus. Attendees heard 15 promising young singers (7 undergraduates and 8 graduate students) and enjoyed a wine and hors d’oeuvres reception. The awards, determined by audience ballot, are shown below.

Graduate Awards

Go to graduate arias.
Donor Winner
$1500 OGSA in honor of Suzanne and Richard Clark Jenina Gallaway, soprano
OGSA Humberto Borboa, tenor
Carol and John Garrard and The Opera Glass Magazine Dori Smith, soprano
Cynthia M. Hagerman and OGSA Ivette Ortiz, soprano
Robin Coon Kaitrin Cunningham, soprano
OGSA Brian McNiff, tenor

Undergraduate Awards

Go to undergraduate arias.
Donor Winner
$1000 Arizona Opera Company Melanie Alameda, soprano
$750 Patricia and Patrick Schifano & Susan and Frank Finkenberg Caroline Crawford, soprano
Russo, Russo & Slania, P.C. & OGSA Michelle Perrier, soprano
The Swedish Award, from Eva & Hans Bennich Jordan Wilson, soprano
The technical staff of the UA School of Music graciously recorded all the arias. You can listen and/or download them by clicking on the files below, shown in the order performed. Note: Flash player is required.  

2014 Graduate Arias

2014 Undergraduate Arias